自動駕駛汽車試驗計劃

Image
Stats

香港首輛毋須人手操作軚盤的自動駕駛汽車於 2020 年底在科大清水灣校區開始進行試驗。這輛自動駕駛汽車是由劉明教授(電子與計算機工程系,香港科技大學智能自動駕駛中心主任)及其學生團隊設計發明。這輛自動駕駛汽車配備全3D地圖、大尺度視覺空間與傳感導航等技術,因此能夠檢測道路上的障礙物,並在採集道路數據後可以自行規劃路線;此外,它能夠完成載運任務,在運送貨物期間有效減少人與人之間的接觸,減低當中所帶來的健康風險,是應對2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19) 疫情的眾多創新發明之一。

劉教授先後在深圳、上海等4個中國內地城市進行發布,合共50輛自動駕駛汽車,到了2020 年底,這輛可充電的自動駕駛汽車終於抵達香港。

香港科技大學很榮幸能夠在香港舉辦首個自動駕駛汽車試驗,這項試驗得到了香港特區政府運輸署的大力支持,實現了「可持續發展智慧校園」計劃的目標,把校園化身為生活實驗室,體現了科大教職員具有突破性的創新科技和創業能力。現時,自動駕駛汽車已成功通過兩個階段的試驗,預期最終將在整個校園內運送食物和郵件,讓科技在校園內進一步應用。

夸父的到來 (2020 年 10 月 28 日)

這輛名為夸父的自動駕駛汽車於 2020 年 10 月 28 日從中國深圳抵達香港科技大學。這是香港第一台4級自動駕駛汽車。 4 級自動駕駛汽車可以在有限的人工干預下自行駕駛。香港科技大學要感謝校園管理辦公室、劉明教授的團隊和知識轉移辦公室的大力幫助下將夸父成功交付。

零階段測試 —A區域 (2020 年 11 月 21 日)

第 0 階段測試在香港科技大學清水灣校園的停車場舉行。測試的目的是檢查自動駕駛汽車的停止、啟動、轉彎、上坡和下坡等基本功能。運輸署代表見證了測試,夸父成功通過了提案中事先確認的所有要求和測試項目。隨後,香港科技大學繼續為第 0.5 階段測試做準備。

0.5 階段測試 (第1部分) (2021年2月)

第0.5 階段測試於 2 月沿著從 LG7 停車位到大學南門環形交叉路口的路線進行。由於路線長約 2 公里,我們將路線分成幾段,以減少對公眾的干擾。

項目團隊事先編制了一份要測試的項目清單。運輸署見證了測試。有些項目需要後續測試,但我們最終通過了所有測試項目,進入了第1階段。

佳兆業訪問香港科技大學(2021年4月1日)

我們很榮幸能夠向佳兆業集團主席郭英誠先生和佳兆業集團的其他高級代表展示了自動駕駛汽車夸父。該活動與香港科技大學創業中心統籌的智能無人小車競速比賽一起舉行。參觀期間,工學院院長鄭光廷教授介紹了5個完成後將提升自動駕駛能力的種子項目。這些項目是由佳兆業集團慷慨資助的眾多項目中的幾項。

香港科學園展覽(2021年7月8日)

自動駕駛汽車夸父在香港科學園 2021 年世界人工智能大會期間展出。會議期間,香港科技大學(廣州)創校校長倪明選教授在活動中發言並代表香港科技大學簽署了加入全球高校人工智能學術聯盟(GAIAA)的諒解備忘錄。

行政長官林鄭月娥訪問香港科技大學(2021年8月6日)

2021 年 8 月 6 日,香港行政長官林鄭月娥參觀香港科技大學清水灣校區,各部門展示了各自在研發方面的獨特成果,其中包括自動駕駛汽車夸父。電子及計算機工程系主任潘永安教授對夸父進行了詳細講解,包括夸父將用於為在大學李達三葉耀珍伉儷李本俊會議大樓隔離的大學成員提供膳食。2020 年,行政長官林鄭月娥寫了一封信支持香港科技大學的自動駕駛汽車事業。香港科技大學很高興能夠向行政長官林鄭月娥展示夸父,讓她看到我們取得的進步。

港鐵及香港機場管理局訪問(2021年9月6日)

港鐵及香港機場管理局代表來到香港科技大學清水灣校園,會見香港科技大學鄭家純機器人研究所代表,包括王煜教授、王魯佳教授、劉明教授和他的學生。參與者討論了大學教師與港鐵和香港機場管理局之間可能的合作。劉明教授設計的自動駕駛汽車夸父引起了很多討論。夸父的介紹與機器狗一起進行,該機器狗將在未來與夸父一起在大學校園內運送貨物。

東南亞國家聯盟(ASEAN)領事訪問(2021年9月20日)

我們很榮幸東南亞國家聯盟其中的10個國家駐香港總領事館的總領事到訪香港科技大學清水灣校區。香港科技大學校長史維教授歡迎他們來到校園,並鼓勵東南亞國家聯盟國家的學生來香港科技大學就讀。參觀結束時,自動駕駛汽車項目團隊向來賓演示了夸父。王魯佳教授提到同樣的自動駕駛汽車也在法政大學,這恰好是泰國總領事的母校,令來賓們欣喜若狂。

夸父的1 歲生日派對(2021 年 10 月 28 日)

2021 年 10 月 28 日,也就是夸父抵達香港科技大學清水灣校區剛好一年後,我們慶祝了夸父的 1 歲生日。這是一個非常令人興奮的里程碑。校長史維教授、工學院院長鄭光廷教授、協理副校長(研究及發展)陳子亭教授等多位嘉賓出席支持,並感謝所有在自動駕駛汽車試驗計劃背後非常勤奮和敬業的團隊。前來慶祝活動的人非常多,我們希望在明年能繼續保持這股動力。

0.5 階段測試 (第2部分) (2021年10月)

由於校園南門附近的道路工程影響了原LG7到南門的路線,我們使用 0.5 階段(第2部分)來測試一條新路線。新路線穿過日晷迴旋處—校園內最繁忙的道路之一。因此,香港運輸署(TD)要求我們完成8項測試,以確保試驗的安全。在兩次參觀校園見證測試後,TD批准了讓夸父以自主模式在舊路線和新路線上以10公里/小時的速度運行的許可證。

Autonomous Vehicle Trial

The first autonomous vehicle (AV) trial without an operator on board in Hong Kong commenced in late 2020 on the HKUST Clearwater Bay Campus. The AV, designed by Prof. Ming Liu (ECE, Director of HKUST’s Intelligent Autonomous Driving Centre) and his team of students, is one of the many innovative initiatives to fight against the COVID-19 pandemic as the AV is able to make deliveries that limits human-to-human contact. Equipped with technologies such as all-terrain 3D mapping and large-scale visual and sensor navigation, the vehicle can plan its route after collecting data on the road and is able to detect on-road obstacles. After the launch of 50 units of Prof. Liu’s AV’s in 4 cities in Mainland China such as Shenzhen and Shanghai, the AV, which is electronically charged, has finally arrived in Hong Kong. HKUST is proud to host the first AV trial in Hong Kong as it meets the goals for the “Sustainable Smart Campus as a Living Lab” initiative and exemplifies the ground-breaking innovation, and technological and entrepreneurship abilities of HKUST faculty. The AV has successfully passed two stages of the trial and will eventually be used to deliver food and mail throughout the campus. The AV trial has received generous support from the Transport Department, HKSAR Government.

The Arrival of Hercules

The Autonomous Vehicle (AV), named Hercules, arrived at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) on 28 October 2020 from Shenzhen, China. It is Hong Kong's first Level 4 AV. HKUST would like to thank the Campus Management Office, Prof. Ming Liu's team, and the Office of Knowledge Transfer for the hugely successful delivery of Hercules.

Stage 0 testing - Zone A

The Stage 0 testing was held in a car park on the HKUST Clearwater Bay Campus. The purpose of the test is to check the basic functionalities of the Autonomous Vehicle such as stopping, starting, turning, going uphill. Representatives from the Hong Kong Transport Department witnessed the test and the AV successfully passed all requirements. Subsequently, the University moved on to preparing for the Stage 0.5 testing.

Stage 0.5 Testing

The Stage 0.5 test took place in February along the route from the LG7 parking spot to the roundabout at the university's South Gate. As the route was around 2km long, we broke the route into sections to make sure there was minimal disturbance to the public.

The project team compiled a list of items to test, which was witnessed by the Hong Kong Transport Department on the day of the test. There were some items that needed subsequent testing, but we successfully passed all testing items to be able to move on to Stage 1. 

Kaisa's Executives' Visit to HKUST (1 April 2021)

Image
Group Photo
Image
Kaisa Chairman

We are proud that we showcased the Autonomous Vehicle (AV) to the Chairman of the Kaisa Group, Mr. Kwok Ying Shing, and other high ranking representatives from the Kaisa Group. The event was held in conjunction to the RC Car Racing event organised by the univeristy's Entrepreneurship Centre. During the visit, Prof. Tim Cheng, Dean of the School of Engineering, presented the 5 seed projects that will advance the abilities of the AV. These projects are some of the projects in HKUST that are generously funded by the Kaisa Group.

Exhibition at Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (8 July 2021)

The Autonomous Vehicle, Hercules, was exhibited at the Hong Kong Science Park during the World AI Conference 2021. During the conference, the founding President of HKUST(GZ), Lionel Ni, spoke at the event as well as signed an MOU on behalf of HKUST to join The Global Artificial Intelligence Academic Alliance (GAIAA).

Chief Executive Carrie Lam's Visit to HKUST (6 August 2021)

Image
Prof. Andrew Poon with Carrie Lam
Image
Group Photo

On 6 August 2021, Hong Kong Chief Executive, Carrie Lam, visited the HKUST Clearwater Bay campus where various departments showcased their unique achievements in research & development, among which was the Autonomous Vehicle (AV). Prof. Andrew Poon, Head of the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering, gave a detailed explanation on the AV and that it will be used to deliver meals to university members quarantining in the University's Conference Lodge. The university is proud to be able to present the AV to Ms. Lam.

Visit by MTR and Airport Authority (6 September 2021)

Representatives from the MTR Corporation Limited and the Airport Authority Hong Kong came to HKUST's Clear Water Bay campus and met with representatives from the University's Cheng Kar-Shun Robotics Institute, including Prof. Michael Wang, Prof. Lujia Wang, Prof. Ming Liu, and his students. The meeting attendees discussed on possible collaboration between university faculty and the MTR and Airport Authority. There was a lot of discussion on the Autonomous Vehicle (AV) designed by Prof. Ming Liu, The AV was presented to the guests together with a robot dog that will, in the future, be used as a last-mile delivery in conjunction with the AV to deliver goods around the university campus.

Visit from ASEAN Counsuls (20 September 2021)

We are extremely honored to have the counsuls and counsul generals of the Hong Kong consulates of the 10 ASEAN countries visit the HKUST Clearwater Bay campus. They were welcomed to the campus by the President of the University, Prof. Wei Shyy, to promote students from ASEAN countries to study in HKUST. At the end of the guests' tour, the Autonomous Vehicle's (AV) project team gave a demo of the AV to the guests. The guests was ecstatic when Prof. Lujia Wang mentioned that the same AV is also in Thammasat University, which happens to be the alma mater of the Consul General of Thailand.