成功故事

多层次杀菌(MAP-1)涂层

杨经伦教授及其团队开发了一种MAP-1新型涂层,可有效消灭病毒,细菌,甚至生命力顽强的孢子。其不仅能有效杀灭99.9%的麻疹、腮腺炎和风疹等高传染性病毒,更可杀灭99.9%的猫杯状病毒(FCV)。猫杯状病毒是检测杀菌功效的病毒学黄金指针,其抗药性高于所有冠状病毒(如引起COVID-19的冠状病毒)该技术以授权于捷和实业有限公司(CIL)。

 

用于家庭隔离的智能地理围栏技术

由Compathnion Technology Limited开发的移动应用程序“ StayHomeSafe”,是计算机科学与工程系的Gary Chan教授从许可的自动地理围栏技术“ Signature Home”开发而成的。

 

 

 

应对痴呆症挑战的新方法和治疗策略

阿尔兹海默症是一种会严重削弱患者认知能力的渐进性脑退化病,患者主要是 65 岁以上的长者,影响全球超过 4500 万人。根据世界卫生组织估计,随着人口老龄化,到了2050年,阿尔兹海默症的病例将增加三倍,达至1.154億。目前,研究阿尔兹海默症的临床试验十分昂贵,而且有关试验结果屡次失败,相关的研究备受到质疑。有见及此,由叶玉如教授(H指数是67)和 Karl Herrup 教授(H指数是 61)领导一班寻求新方法、在认知和治疗方面的国际领导者,把这个议题视作研究策略目标,发现了新的分子治疗靶点和新的疾病机制概念,取得了重要进展。这项技术已被转移应用到增强大脑健康的治疗、识别高危人群的标准作业程序,并获得临床试验和开发许可。这些突破引起了全球和地方各界的关注,当中包括政策领袖、医生和致力于解决痴呆症的非政府组织。

 

 

迈向智能绿色建筑的未来

由赵汝恒教授及其团队领导的研究产生了多种创新产品,譬如新型吸附式制冷系统,这个系统是结合多层壁奈米碳管(MWCNT)沸石13X/CaCl2复合吸附剂与TiO2纳米流体的微槽蒸发器所制成,可节省约60%的电力消耗,现已在广州万宝集团有限公司开始生产。此外,赵教授及其团队还发明了采用最大功率点追踪(MPPT)控制器、云端服务和在线监控的新型低速风力发动机,现在是中国主要风电公司广州红鹰能源科技股份有限公司的产品,在截稿前统计已经产生了人民币一千万元的销售额。

 

 

通过生物技术持续燕窝产业、护肤品发展及皮肤修复产品

在过去的二十年里,香港科技大学生物科技的专家牵头开发从自然界中发现和衍生的化合物新用途,例如食用燕窝、中草药和各种细菌,并设计了相应的技术使它们可以广泛应用於皮肤和医疗保健。

 

 

创新定位技术创建智慧城市:WHERAMI、STREAMHONY和LAVINET

定位技术是推动智慧城市的其中一环,陈双幸教授的研究成果在这一领域上贡献良多,他善于研究新一代轻量且准确的定位技术作日常商业应用,他的发明包括现时用于海港城的室内融合定位技术「 Wherami」;中国移动所使用的定位串流技术「Streamphony」;以及帮助港口码头物流电子化的新型WiFi无线多跳网络软件——「简捷网」(LAviNet)。

 

 

为香港制作一个高分辨率的空气质量预测系统

空气污染是影响香港以至全球人类健康的主要环境问题,单在2015年,在香港就有超过5600人因空气污染而死亡。有见及此,冯志雄教授及其团队与政府机构合作,利用最新的数学方法,开发了一个具高精细度的空气质素预测系统,提供最先进的街道级别实时空气质素和健康风险信息,以及48小时空气质素预报。

Success Stories

MULTILEVEL ANTIMICROBIAL POLYMER (MAP-1) COATING

Prof King Lun Yeung has developed MAP-1 coating which is effective in killing viruses, bacteria and even hard-to-kill spores. It can inactivate up to 99.9% of highly-infectious viruses such as measles, mumps and rubella, and 99.99% of the surrogate feline calicivirus (FCV) - a gold standard for disinfection efficiency and is more resistant than coronaviruses such as the one responsible for COVID-19 epidemic. The technology has been licensed to Chiaphua Industries Ltd. (CIL) in 2019.

SMART GEO-FENCING TECHNOLOGY FOR HOME QUARANTINE

Researchers of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) have developed a novel geo-fencing technology, offering a smart core solution that helps save the government’s manpower in monitoring those under compulsory home quarantine amid the novel pneumonia (COVID-19) outbreak.

 

 

NOVEL APPROACHES AND THERAPEUTIC STRATEGIES FOR MEETING THE CHALLENGES OF DEMENTIA

Alzheimer's disease (AD) is a devastating neurodegenerative condition affecting over 45 million individuals worldwide, primarily over the age of 65. The World Health Organization estimates that by 2050, there will be a threefold jump in AD dementia cases to 115.4 million, as populations age. Division of Life Science scientists, led by Prof Nancy Ip (h-factor 67) and Prof Karl Herrup (h-factor 61), approach this challenge as questions of science and research strategy. They are international leaders in the search for new approaches, understanding, and cures. While current understanding of AD has been questioned as expensive clinical trials repeatedly fail, the HKUST scientists have made important progress by identifying novel molecular therapeutic targets and new concepts of disease mechanisms. Technology has been transferred into treatments for enhancing brain health, and licenses for clinical trials and development; as well as protocols for identifying at-risk populations. These breakthroughs have attracted global and local attention from policy leaders; NGOs striving for solutions for dementia; and health practitioners.

 

 

TOWARDS THE FUTURE OF SMART GREEN BUILDINGS

Research led by Prof Christopher Chao and his team at HKUST has resulted in several innovative products; new adsorption cooling systems using MWCNT Zeolite 13X/CaCl2 composite adsorbent integrated with TiO2 nanofluid-based micro-grooved evaporators saving around 60% electricity consumption, have now commenced production at Guangzhou Wanbao Group Co. Ltd.; novel low-speed wind turbines using MPPT controllers, cloud services, and online monitoring and control are now a product of major Chinese wind power company, Guangzhou HY Energy Technology Ltd. and have already generated 10 million RMB sales revenue during the census period

 

 

SUSTAINING THE BIRD’S NEST INDUSTRY AND DEVELOPMENT OF SKINCARE AND SKIN REPAIR PRODUCTS THROUGH BIOTECHNOLOGY

Over the past two decades, the HKUST biotechnology cluster has looked east and west to spearhead the development of new uses for compounds discovered and derived from nature, such as edible bird’s nest, Chinese herbs, and various bacteria, and devised technologies to make them usable in a wide range of applications in skin and healthcare.

 

 

INNOVATIVE LOCATION-BASED TECHNOLOGIES TO ENABLE A SMART CITY: WHERAMI, STREAMPHONY AND LAVINET

Location-based technologies are enablers of the ‘smart city’. Prof Gary Chan’s research focuses on innovating lightweight and robust location-based technologies and deploying them for commercial impacts. His work includes an indoor localization technology, Wherami, used in Harbour City; the location-based streaming technology, Streamphony, commercialized by China Mobile Hong Kong; and a novel multi-hop WiFi technology, Lavinet, deployed in our leading port terminal to support e-logistics. 

 

 

CREATING A HIGH-RESOLUTION AIR QUALITY FORECASTING SYSTEM FOR HONG KONG

Air pollution is a major environmental risk to human health in Hong Kong and globally. Locally, it was associated with over 5,600 deaths in 2015 alone. Through a science-to-policy collaboration with government agencies, mathematician and atmospheric meteorologist Prof Jimmy Fung and his team in the HKUST Air Group used novel mathematical approaches to develop a regional fine-scale air-quality forecast system that provides state-of-the-art real-time and forecast (up to 48 hours) air quality and health risk information down to street level.